Fitness0/17 facts verified

ClassPass referral link: what the friend gets and when the referrer is paid

A ClassPass referral link gives a new customer a 14-day free trial with 4 more workouts than the regular trial offer, according to the signup page the link opens. ClassPass does not publish a promo code. The referrer is rewarded only after the friend becomes a paying subscriber, and the reward is added in the subscription month after the friend's first payment.

ClassPass referral terms

New customer gets
14-day free trial with 4 more workouts than the regular trial offerCheck pending
Referrer gets
A reward once the friend becomes a paying subscriber; the amount is not published in the help centerCheck pending
Minimum
Friend must start a paid credit-based membership; the trial alone does not countCheck pending
Limits
One bonus reward per person, however many sets of three friends are referredCheck pending
When it pays
In the subscription month after the friend's payment, typically 7 to 14 days laterCheck pending
Code or link
Link (open it and sign up on that page)Check pending
Stacks with sales
No. Promotions cannot be combined on one account, and a referral will not apply to an account that already used a trialCheck pending
Open our ClassPass referral link

Ordinary member referral link. It gives you the same offer any referral does.

How it works

  1. Check that you are a new ClassPass customer. The trial is for people who have never had a ClassPass trial. ClassPass says a previous trial under any email address makes you ineligible for another.
  2. Open the referral link and sign up on that page. The extra workouts attach to the signup you complete on the referral page. Joining from the app store first and trying to add a link later is not something ClassPass documents.
  3. Read the plan shown at the bottom of the page. The page names the plan you will auto-renew onto after the trial and its monthly price. That plan depends on your location, so read it before you tap the claim button.
  4. Use the trial workouts before the trial ends. Trial workouts expire at the end of the trial, and trial credits do not roll into a paid month.
  5. Cancel or change your plan before the first charge if you do not want it. Cancel on the last day of the trial rather than earlier, because a trial cancellation is immediate and ends your remaining workouts.

What the friend gets compared with the regular trial

The signup page behind our link says the friend gets 4 more workouts than ClassPass's regular offer, as part of a 14-day free trial. The page lists the trial at $0.

That is the whole extra. The referral does not change the monthly price after the trial, and it does not add a discount code. The workouts are for a selection of studios and gyms, one time each, and the page says inventory varies by location and may be limited for trial users.

ClassPass also says the trial type varies. Depending on the offer, a trial can be a free first visit at participating studios, a set number of trial credits, or a set number of classes. If the page you land on shows something different from this description, the page you see is the offer that applies to you.

Check pending

What the referrer gets, and when

The referrer does not get anything when a friend signs up for the trial. ClassPass rewards the referrer after the friend becomes a paying credit-based subscriber.

The help center says the reward is added in the subscription month immediately following the month in which the friend makes a payment, typically between 7 and 14 days. ClassPass also says its team verifies the referral first and sends a confirmation email, usually within 7 to 14 days after the friend subscribes to a paid plan.

The reward amount is not stated in the help center. It says the bonus is "stated in your offer," so the figure you see in your own account is the one that counts.

Check pending

Caps and where the program does not run

ClassPass describes a bonus reward tied to three friends who become paying subscribers. It limits one bonus reward per person, regardless of how many sets of three friends you refer.

The Refer-A-Friend promotion is not available in the state of Washington.

The referral link must come from an active ClassPass account, and you find it in the app under Profile, then Refer a friend.

Check pending

Does it stack with other promotions?

No. ClassPass says multiple promotions cannot be combined on a single account.

There are no student, first-responder or military discounts either, per the promotions page. Employers can buy corporate plans, and that is a separate route.

Check pending

Why a ClassPass referral fails to apply

  • You already redeemed a ClassPass trial. A referral will not apply to an existing account that has used a trial.
  • You tried a trial before under a different email address. ClassPass counts a trial once per person.
  • You live in Washington State, where the promotion is not offered.
  • You skipped the link and signed up directly, so the offer was never attached.

If you are ineligible for a new-customer trial, ClassPass says it occasionally runs reactivation offers. Those are separate from referrals.

Check pending

What happens when the trial ends

The account auto-renews onto the plan named at signup. For the location we checked, the page said the 48-credit plan at $99.00 a month plus tax. Your price may differ, and ClassPass says it sends a reminder email before the trial ends.

Trial credits expire and do not roll over unless the signup process says otherwise. Fees also apply for missed or late-canceled reservations during the trial.

Check pending

The cheapest legitimate way to start

Start from a referral link, use the trial on classes you would book anyway, and decide on day 13 or 14 whether to keep the plan. Cancel on the last day if you do not want it, because canceling early ends the trial immediately.

If you do keep going, pick the smaller plan first. ClassPass allows plan changes before the next billing cycle in your account settings, so moving up is easy.

Check pending

Plan prices and the cost per credit

These are the plans the referral page listed for a visitor in Pasadena, CA. Other cities show different plans and prices. The per-credit column is the monthly price divided by the credits, which compares tiers and does not tell you what a class costs. Class prices in credits vary by studio and time.

PlanMonthly pricePrice per credit
8 credits$19$2.38
25 credits$55$2.20
48 credits (default after trial)$99$2.06
73 credits$149$2.04
95 credits$189$1.99
150 credits$299$1.99

Source: the ClassPass referral signup page, checked for a Pasadena, CA location. Taxes are extra.

Our take

Use the link if you have never tried ClassPass. The extra trial workouts cost nothing, and you can leave before the first charge. Skip it if you already used a ClassPass trial, because the referral will not apply to your account. If you plan to refer friends, the payout depends on them paying for a membership, so it suits people who were going to subscribe anyway.

Questions people ask

Is there a ClassPass promo code?

ClassPass does not publish a promo code in its help center. New customers get the trial offer shown on the signup page, and a referral link adds extra workouts to that trial. The help center also says promotions cannot be combined on one account.

How does the ClassPass referral work?

A friend signs up through your unique link and gets a trial with 4 more workouts than the regular offer. You are rewarded after the friend becomes a paying credit-based subscriber, in the subscription month after their payment.

How much do I get for referring a friend to ClassPass?

The help center does not state a dollar or credit amount. It says rewards are described in your own offer, so check the Refer a friend screen in your account.

When does the ClassPass referral reward arrive?

ClassPass says the reward is added in the subscription month immediately after the month your friend pays, typically between 7 and 14 days. You get a confirmation email once the referral is verified.

Can I use a ClassPass referral if I already have an account?

Not if you already redeemed a trial. ClassPass says a friend's link will not apply to an existing account that has used a trial offer.

Is there a limit on ClassPass referrals?

ClassPass limits one bonus reward per person, regardless of multiple sets of three friends referred. The promotion is also not available in Washington State.

Do trial credits roll over?

No. Trial credits and credits that were not purchased do not roll over, unless the sign-up process says otherwise.

Will I be charged after the ClassPass free trial?

Yes, if you do not cancel. The trial auto-renews onto the plan shown at signup, and ClassPass sends a reminder email before the trial ends. Cancel on the last day of the trial to keep your remaining workouts until then.

Does ClassPass have a student discount?

The promotions page says there is no student, first-responder or military discount. Corporate plans are available through employers.

Sources

Each fact on this page is matched daily against the brand's own wording at these pages. How we test.

  • Check pending The referral signup page offers a 14-day free trial with 4 more workouts than the regular offer. classpass.com
  • Check pending Trial workouts expire at the end of the trial and the trial can be canceled anytime. classpass.com
  • Check pending After the trial the account auto-renews onto the plan shown at signup (48-credit plan, $99.00/month for the tested location). classpass.com
  • Check pending Plans shown on the referral page for a Pasadena, CA visitor: 8 credits $19, 25 credits $55, 48 credits $99, 73 credits $149, 95 credits $189, 150 credits $299 per month. classpass.com
  • Check pending Fees apply for missed or late-canceled reservations; trial inventory varies and may be limited. classpass.com
  • Check pending Referrer reward arrives in the subscription month after the friend pays, typically 7 to 14 days; friend must become a paying credit-based subscriber. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Bonus reward is for three friends; limit one bonus reward per person. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending The Refer-A-Friend promotion is not available in the state of Washington. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Referral link is found under Profile, Refer a friend in the app, from an active account. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending ClassPass verifies the referral and emails a confirmation, usually within 7-14 days after the friend subscribes to a paid plan. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Promotions cannot be combined, and a referral does not apply to an account that already redeemed a trial. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Trials are for new customers only and usable once per person, even with a different email address. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Trial offers are valid for new customers only; trial credits expire and do not roll over; a reminder email is sent before the trial ends. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Trial type varies: first-time visits, a set number of trial credits, or a set number of classes. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Trial cancellations are immediate and forfeit credits and scheduled classes; cancel about 48 hours before renewal to avoid a charge. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending Trial credits and credits not purchased do not roll over. help.classpass.com
  • Check pending ClassPass does not offer a student, first-responder or military discount; corporate plans exist. help.classpass.com